Super Stuff. And Troupers.

Saturday, October 25 2008 at 23:30 (Daily Life) (, , , , , )

If you didn’t get it, that title is an ABBA reference. ‘Cause I finally have have ABBA Gold on CD (I only had it on tape before) and it’s awesome. Don’t argue.
Talking of arguing, this will quash anything Max can say. So ha. Oh, and just so you don’t have to check, TF2 wasn’t on the list. At all.

Lots of stuff has happened in the past eight days. Let’s begin with

Item 1: I ‘acquired’ Half-Life.
Yeah, so after asking my mum to pay the measly price of $10 for this game off STEAM and her refusal, I was egged on by multiple people to ‘acquire’ Half-Life by other means. So I did. And needless to say, it’s motherfrickin’ awesomesweet. The atmosphere is great, it runs absolutely rock solid on my computer and although the polygons and textures aren’t great compared to modern games, who the fuck cares when you have this much awesome on a drip. Into your eyes. I think I’ve nearly completed it, which is sad. I might have to buy Half-Life 2. Yes, BUY.

Item 2: I’ve watched a LOT of Arthur on YouTube.
I don’t even care what you think about this. Arthur is massively amazing. Hell, we had an Arthur QUIZ at school on [EDIT] Friday [EDIT]. That was pretty amusing, and proves just how sad we all really are.

Item 3: Blast Corps.
Yeah, I bought this ’64 classic last Christmas eve because I really needed a distraction from the pain of waiting to get Mario Galaxy and Metroid Prime 3 the next day. I believe that it cost £1-2. I bought it with only silver coins, anyway. So, having only played this game for about one night before, I decided that in my gaming doldrums I would fire this up and give it a go. If you don’t know, the premise of this game is that a nuclear missile carrier has gone on auto pilot and the slightest nudge will cause a massive explosion. So a company, Blast Corps, is hired to destroy all the stuff in the way of this carrier. Yeah. It’s hugely difficult and sometimes I do feel that the controls are what make the game harder, rather than the content. But it’s still a great game. I’m now a Heavy Duty Waster.

Item 4: Umm. Life?
School has been pretty mediocre. Nothing interesting to a great degree, nothing bad to a great degree. Merlin is awesome, as is Heroes. I’ve decided to steal all of my dad’s Coldplay CDs.

Item 5: Today, Saturday.
Many things have happened today, mostly boring. I woke up and ran MSCONFIG to disable quite a bit of the crap on my computer, and it now runs much faster. I also ran disk cleanup and got rid of ten gigabytes of temporary files. Ouch.
I took apart our garden table, put it away, and did little for quite a long time. Then Merlin came on (which was very good) and I decided to cook some eating-type shizzle. Then I decided to watch Crash, which I recorded ages ago, then 20 minutes in I decided to stop and install the Homebrew channel on my Wii. The problem was that I decided to update my Wii BEFORE installing the app. And no-one had told me that Nintendo had released a secret anti-homebrew update two days ago. Damn my timing. Damn my stupidity. Oh well, at least I know how to run the Twilight hack now. And with any luck there’ll be a workaround developed within a week. The internet is so helpful.
After this frustration I eventually went back to Crash. That is a really very good film. Thought provoking, clever, and with unexpected plot twists and airtight acting. Recommended.

I really hope that that’s all.
Oh, and I ‘acquired’ Castlevania: Symphony of the Night. I will play it when I am done with Half-Life. And I also played Battletoads yesterday, mainly for the pause song/beat. Insanely difficult, go and watch the AVGN episode on it.

Listening to ABBA Gold. Failing to read ‘The Book Thief’. Playing Far Too Many Games.

4 Comments

  1. Chris said,

    We had the Arthur quiz on Saturday? And you say I don’t read through mine…. and if you do no believe me and you will just edit your post again to make me look the fool (like you did last time >.>) quoting WITH COPY AND PASTE, “Hell, we had an Arthur QUIZ at school on Saturday.” So there!

  2. joethearachnid said,

    Want me to go through and point out every error and typo in your blogs? It was nearly 1am when I proofread it, and at that time one day is as good as another. I will, however, EDIT the sentence in question. I am announcing that here.

  3. Chris said,

    Calm down, It was just that you constantly go on about how I suck at everything so I thought I would merely point out that you got that ONE word wrong….

  4. joethearachnid said,

    Just ’cause you can’t write ‘genitals’ in your blog.

Leave a Reply

