Building a Model Kayak

Saturday, November 1 2008 at 23:38 (Daily Life, Pictures) (, )

Is bloody hard. Here are the promised pictures. See, I don’t lie in blogs. Although uploading these pictures may break my computer.

All the progress that I made over two days - Not much.

All the progress that I made over two days - Not much.

The pieces of the boat, fresh fresh from being cut out with a nice, sharp Stanley knife. I've left the deck piece not cut out in case I need to reshape it.

The pieces of the boat, fresh fresh from being cut out with a nice, sharp Stanley knife. I left the deck section not cut out because I might need to reshape it.

The kayak with bulkheads, bottom chine and the first two side chines in place. Note also the pencil.

The kayak with bulkheads, bottom chine and the first two side chines in place. Note also the pencil.

What I achieved today in terms of builiding. Ring bulkheads, chines and stern fixing.

What I achieved today in terms of builiding. Ring bulkheads, chines and stern fixing.

Why I did not make any more progress. The ends don't really meet properly in the short length available, and although I managed to botch the other end into shape, I'm being forced to rethink my plans.

Why I did not make any more progress. The ends don't meet up properly in the short space available, and although I managed to botch the other end into shape, I'm being forced to rethink some ideas.

What my bedroom looks like, pro-modelling. Make of it what you will.

What my bedroom looks like, pro-modelling. Make of it what you will.

Maybe I should get a Flickr account or something for pictures. I don’t like the fact that WordPress goes “GASP! You have just 99% of your three gig of space remaining!” every time you upload something. Oh well.

Oh, and an awesome thing is that the Game OverThinker (who is one of my favourite internet people besides Him and Her) is being featured on The Escapist Show next week, which I think is pretty darn awesome. If you didn’t know, The Escapist is where Ben ‘Yahtzee’ Crosshaw does his satirical video game reviews called Zero Punctuation, which is mostly what the site is famous for.

Hey, last minute model finishing, English, RS AND Drama tomorrow! Fun fun fun.

3 Comments

  1. Max said,

    Congrats, looks like you’ve been busy. Must have taken you along time to measure and do all of those *cough* Decimals *cough*. Am I allowed to say that word now or will it, again, bring back bad memories?

    I must say it looks vert good and, from what is visable, has been built with care and accuracy.

    As usual I have left all of my work to the last minute.

  2. Chris said,

    But of course Max, when else is work meant to be done? Why the day before of course.
    But yeah…. i’ve seen a messier room…. hell, before i cleaned my room (anything to stop me from doing homework) I couldn’t even see my floor…. Now I can see the pink carpet with Black splodges where something has been worked into it….
    But yeah…. looks rather…. painful…. in a way…. and then to find out that it doesn’t quite fit…. someone must’ve wanted to stab something….

  3. joethearachnid said,

    Care? Umm… Well, not in the construction process anyway, just in the drawing. Although it actually doesn’t look half bad. I’ve worked out that if I finish before midnight I have twelve hours and fifteen minutes to do all of my work. I think it’s gonna be a two AM finish, somehow…

Leave a Reply

