Don’t Wait, Act Now (This Amazing Offer Won’t last Long)

Friday, December 19 2008 at 00:17 (Daily Life, Music, Pictures, Rants, Reviews, Videos) (, , , , , )

First things first:

Alfie, bitch that he is, has now removed his YouTube account from the internets. However, his equally hilarious Myspace page with all the covers is here.

Which is frudging hilarious. Honest to God. Well, actually not so funny unless you know the guy in question, but you get the gist of it. Also, here is the video that I ripped the title off, in case you haven’t already seen it seven trillion times before, as most of the internet seems to have done.

So, where have I been since… last Thursday? Hmm…

Well, I’m going to skip to Monday ’cause it’s late and that’s as far as my memory stretches. On Monday I got up, felt like crap and went back to bed again. Simple?

Apparently not. I had decided to go on the bi-annual school trip to Aachen, a German town sandwiched between the Dutch and Belgian borders that has a large Christmas market every year. To get there involved leaving school at 9pm by (very uncomfortable) coach, driving for three hours to Dover, getting on the ferry (and playing Blackjack to pass the time), getting back on the coach at around 3am, driving whilst trying to sleep until arrival in Aachen at 7:30am, breakfast at McDonalds, Ludwig Forum of Modern art (penises)(No, seriously. There were fibreglass models of penises), lunch, shopping at the Christmas market, dinner in Pizza Hut, getting back on coach, driving for four hours back to Calais, got back on ferry, got off ferry, drove for another three hours, got home at around 4:00am and slept until 2:00pm the next day.
Tiring? Yes.
Worth it? Not entirely.
Would I do it again? No.

Here are some photos:

Ned on the coach.

Ned on the coach.

Tanita being rude.

Tanita being rude.

What Ned would look like if you were stoned right now.

What Ned would look like if you were stoned right now.

Ned cupping his breast and crotch at the sight of me.

Ned cupping his breast and crotch at the sight of me.

The Cathedral with part of a market stall in the foreground. Did I mention that we found the Tabernacle?

The Cathedral with part of a market stall in the foreground. Did I mention that we found the Tabernacle?

A crowd of people; another street; another day.

A crowd of people; another street; another day.

More Market. Surprised looking Germans.

More Market. Surprised looking Germans.

Market-ness.

Market-ness.

Whats that ugly... thing... in the way? Oh, its Alison.

What's that ugly... thing... in the way? Oh, it's Alison.

Another shot of the cathedral, only with less stuff in the way.

Another shot of the cathedral, only with less stuff in the way.

People, giant gingerbread lady.

People, giant gingerbread lady.

Moar Cafedral.

Moar Cafedral.

Me not wanting my picture taken. Its framed nicely, though.

Me not wanting my picture taken. It's framed nicely, though.

Semi-precious stone stand. I bought a few.

Semi-precious stone stand. I bought a few.

Weird demon people who insisted that I took a photo of them to show our temporary chumhood.

Weird demon people who insisted that I took a photo of them to show our temporary chumhood.

Sorry, didn’t mean to be a photo whore; I didn’t realise that there were that many pictures.

Have I mentioned that I have a stinking cold and sore throat and now a cough as well? Add that into the journey, it makes it much worse.

Well, I spent the remainder of Wednesday playing Metroid Prime 3, trying to finally beat the last boss on Hypermode difficulty. I did manage to get up to the second phase part before dying. Once. It’s not really that it’s mega-hard (although it is), it’s that it take so very long to do that it just doesn’t seem worth it.
Later on, I watched Heroes. That was awesome. But now there will be No More Heroes for three weeks now. Stupid Christmas…

Erm. Well, today was fairly uninteresting, we watched Spanglish in Spanish, which I WILL one day see the end of, the people who had finished all of their coursework (about five people, including me) got to watch a chunk of WALL-E in Drama whilst the rest of class worked, we had a ‘fun’ quiz in Maths and Trivial Pursuits with Mr Heath in German. He was on the other team, and cheated. A lot.

When I got home I had to cook spaghetti bolognese, which actually turned out to not suck, despite the onions making my eyes want to listen to My Chemical Romance and jump off a cliff with the new Fall Out Boy album strapped to their backs.

Then, then I watched Mamma Mia! That wasn’t an exclamation. That’s the name.
I have to say that, on the whole, I liked it. It was a bit odd that I already knew 90% of the song words off by heart, but hey, it’s all part of the fun. Some songs were awesome, me liking ‘Mamma Mia’, ‘Super Trouper’, ‘S.O.S.’ and ‘Waterloo’, but some of my favourites were skimmed over (Gimme Gimme Gimme) and some of my less favoured ABBA sogs had far to much time expended on them (The Winner Takes it All). ‘Voulez Vous’ is an interesting one because although I liked it and it was mostly true to the original, the timing in the chorus was changed ever so slightly, which really annoyed me. It gave it the sound of being rushed, and Voulez Vous is too awesome to be rushed.
I felt that the story was pretty decent for a modern musical and the acting talent was great, so no qualms on that end. I think I can understand why it was successful, but I can’t understand why it was SO successful. To be honest, I prefer ABBA Gold, given the choice.
Four stars. ****

And I think that’s all, folks

Leave a Reply

