Bumper Christmas Photoblog

Wednesday, December 31 2008 at 19:54 (Daily Life, Pictures, Rants, Reviews) (, , , )

I was going to do a big ol’ blog detailing everything that’s happened over the Christmas season (so far), but I thought I’d cheap out on most of it and cover half of everything with photos.

For Christmas, I received:

A bunch of Wii stuff. Wii Play and Wii Fit belong to my brother and mother espectively, but MarioKart is MINE.

A bunch of Wii stuff. Wii Play and Wii Fit belong to my brother and mother respectively, but MarioKart is MINE.

52 of these. I expect I shall be able to read about ten before my head explodes.

52 of these. I expect I shall be able to read about ten before my head explodes.

Assorted other goodies that took my fancy. Mechano, squidgy balls, etcetera.

Assorted other goodies that took my fancy. Mechano, squidgy balls, etcetera.

And my parents received, but I have played the most with:

A desktop table football game. This is awesome.

A desktop table football game. This is awesome.

I also got (as an unofficial present from my brother):

His old television. After disinfecting it and cleaning it, I put it on a stack of old Beano Annuals. It doesnt do TV, but it can play my Nintendo 64 (partly pictured).

His old television. After disinfecting it and cleaning it, I put it on a stack of old Beano Annuals. It doesn't do TV, but it can play my Nintendo 64 (partly pictured).

After Christmas we spent most of a day cleaning out the loft where I found, amongst other things:

An ENORMOUS novelty lightbulb. Also pictured is a normal lightbulb to give a sense of scale.

An ENORMOUS novelty lightbulb. Also pictured is a normal lightbulb to give a sense of scale.

Unfortunately I cannot use this lightbulb because the light in my bedroom is currently broken, pending repair. I even bought a neat new lightswitch to see if the old one was broken, but it still doesn’t work.

Hmm. I’ll talk about MarioKart for a bit. First and foremost, it’s fun. You can’t rgue with that. Even when frustrating and awkward, it still causes enjoyment when played. But secondly, it’s an absolute bitch to play. Not because of the controls, no, even the wheel works surprisingly well. My qualm is with driving a perfect race, then as you finally approach the finish line one is hit by (in order) green shell, red shell, lightning, POW block blue shell and then some random guy with invincibility or super-sized-ness, followed by everyone else in the race, leaving you last, or near to it. Sometimes you can cross the finish line and THEN get hit by all these things, but the problem is that a good deal of the skill involved in the game has been removed. People in last place will ALWAYS get super-powered items, those in first will ALWAYS get crap ones. And half of the above listed items CANNOT be avoided at all. Fortunately, this is only really bad in 150cc, and other features such as online play and other cc settings are really great. It’s good, but by no means perfect.

WII FIT. I really don’t get it. No. That’s why it’s my mother’s not mine. It also seems to be completely random in places. For instance, when I first tried the Body Test, I got an age of about 35. Then I go 22, then I got 28, then I got 21. My mother started out with 65, then ended up with 37. I’m not sure how it gets these ages, but I’m also not sure whether I care. It seems a bit shallow to me, being myself already fairly healthy and so reducing my incentive to play it, but you never know. In future I might get to like it.

Erm. I finally saw several films, including WALL-E and The Dark Knight, both of which were brilliant and which I would review but I’m a bit short for time here.

But talking of television, Wallace and Gromit in ‘A Matter of Loaf and Death’ was truly brilliant. My only annoyance was that it seemed to go by too quickly, even for its brief half-hour length. I was in nearly in tears at the end, though.
Seriously.

Well, that’ll do for now. I’ll do some more if I remember anything crucial, apart from the fact that my cousins were such little bastards that I slammed one of their heads into a door.

Ooh, and I might see Twilight tomorrow. Or something equally bad. Good. Bad.

8 Comments

  1. zobie1996 said,

    Ha! I have wii fit. It is sbit rubbish but i luv it!! Lol. Wallace and gromit was well good. I was fabtabulus lol. Anywayz have a gd rest of the holidaii. Peace out. From zoe

  2. Chris said,

    Blarg!!!! My BRAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Sorry, I was reading the previous comment.

    For a second… or a long time…. I thought you’d died….. But then I’m not one to talk…..
    But yeah, Wallace and Gromit Rocked my Ever so Tetris themed socks off…. I could also hear most of it over the never ending torment of my Grandparents……
    I suffered that problem from Double Dash and the one on the DS…. IT is highly thought that it was programmed that People get a lot more red shells on the last lap….. I suffered 3 red shells (all well timed so I actually Suffered from the hit (which my sister can’t do which is always fun)) I then got him by a blue…… but just before I put down a banana skin…. So I landed on that…. I got royally pissed at that.

    Wii Fit, like most of the Wiis “games”, make no sense and you never get a sense of achievement from playing the game for about an hour…. instead you just feel like your soul has been sucked out your eyes by the almighty Satan that is known only as Nintendo….. whilst they whip children in the game mines……. Wait where was I going with this?
    Uh yeah, I’d heard that the wheel is quite bad because you have to keep it Vertical because otherwise it disconnects and you just find yourself slapping your face at the controller…..

  3. Ben Brown said,

    What you’ve heard about the Wii Wheel is a lie, then. It slots in very firmly. Perhaps the source you were thinking of was someone who bought a third-party cheap-out one?

  4. Chris said,

    I meant as in, if you moved the wheel to a certain angle, it lost connection to the Wii…. But… I don’t know… Don’t have a Wii… don’t really want one….

  5. joethearachnid said,

    I’ve never had the Wii remote disconnect from the Wii unless I’m at the other end of the house or the batteries run out.

  6. Max said,

    Incidentally, why did you feel the need to post comments using both your real name and the pseudonym ‘joethearachnid’?

  7. joethearachnid said,

    Sometimes WP randomly logs me out and I don’t notice when I’m writin’ comments. They’re both my name, anyway.

  8. Chris said,

    It is annoying having to approve of yet another name…. But pfft… I am sure it will soon be fun….. If we get more O.o

Leave a Reply

