Yeah! I Did It!

Sunday, March 15 2009 at 00:02 (Books, Daily Life, Music, Pictures, Rants) (, , , , )

In which I’m a total bitch about everything and gloat my arse off.
Let’s start with a picture:

No, Im not going to talk about Pokémon. This is just the best image to represent how I feel right now.

No, I'm not going to talk about Pokémon. This is just the best image to represent how I feel right now.

I’m happy right now. Happy for several reasons. Here are a few, in picture form.

The results for my most recent Science exams.

The results for my most recent Science exams.

So, as you can see I got 2 A*s. This isn’t bad, considering what a crap week I was having when I did the exams. Obviously I got extra marks ’cause one exam was on my birthday.

The results of my Arkwright scholarship exam. I got in.

The results of my Arkwright scholarship exam. I got in.

This, again, is not entirely what I was expecting, but meh. I don’t yet know whether either Josh or Simon (who also took the aptitude paper) got the required grade, but I do know that the hardest part is probably over; the remainder is just talking to people. And I can talk the hell out of people. However, the thought of going into London and going to Imperial College to see some weird engineering people is a tad on the terrifying side and it takes place on a day when I should be at school, no less. On the upside I’ll probably be one of the first people in the year to get time off lessons to go to interviews. I just realised that my entire address is on that letter… Screw it. It’s an image with nondescript name on Flickr and no-one actually reads this blog who would utilise it for malicious purposes.
I have no shame in admitting that I jumped in the air and whooped when I got this letter.

Now for some boat pictures. These are only the most recent ones, as the others that document what has happened between last week and now were on my other SD card, which seems to have gone walkabout. I suspect either my brother, or my own incompetence. Oh, actually I do have some other photos which I uploaded before but didn’t blog. Those’ll do.

Me fibreglassing on one of the side panels in all the correct safety gear, which I promptly removed after this photo was taken.

Me fibreglassing on one of the side panels in all the correct safety gear, which I promptly removed after this photo was taken.

The epoxy resin team. Present are: epoxy, hardener, acetone, mixing pots, mixing sticks, glass fibre tape, tape roller and 1 brush.

The epoxy resin team. Present are: epoxy, hardener, acetone, mixing pots, mixing sticks, glass fibre tape, latex gloves, tape roller and 1" brush.

Both sides glassed on. Looking boaty.

Both sides glassed on. Looking boaty.

A zoom of some glassing, showing the sheer bond that it is trying to achieve here.

A zoom of some glassing, showing the sheer bond that it is trying to achieve here.

Skipping ahead a bit, this is the pretty much completed structure of the boat. I put glass tape along the outsides of the joins, and thats been sanded down to a smoothness.

Skipping ahead a bit, this is the pretty much completed structure of the boat. I put glass tape along the outsides of the joins, and that's been sanded down to a smoothness.

Me looking like a prick painting on the first coat of thinned primer. This is not the final colour, but it does give a base to the final paint, which will be Britannia Blue.

Me looking like a prick painting on the first coat of thinned primer. This is not the final colour, but it does give a base to the final paint, which will be Britannia Blue.

The boat fully coated in primer, and looking decidedly sexy.

The boat fully coated in primer, and looking decidedly sexy.

The final colour can be found here, near the bottom on the left, although in fact the ‘true blue’ colour is closer to what the finish looks like in real life, as opposed to in computer colours.

So as well as all these other exciting events, I also had a Spanish workshop at Miss Page’s house today, except it wasn’t actually Miss Page. She insisted that we call her ‘S-J’. Anyway, there weren’t many people there, just Evie S, Jim, James M, Tilly, Caroline, Ellen, Chloé and myself, but it was very refreshing from the usual drawl of Spanish and I actually learned a fair amount – There were even cookies. There isn’t really much else to mention beyond the cookies.

My week? Not bad. Both Max and Chris are on track to finishing their DT projects soon, and Max made a drawer all on his own and has been working very hard. That probably sounded condescending. It was. Talking of Chris and Max, I’ve been talking to Chris about Anime because I can, and I’ve been talking to Max about Anime because it pisses him right off.
Friday was charity day, which was nice ’cause everyone dresses up and everyfink is suddenly colourful, but it also means that I have to wear clothes that people won’t sneer at (too much). I decided to start off normal by wearing jeans and a t-shirt, but then I balanced out the normal with a bit of crazy by wearing my white imitation moon boots which I bought at the school Summer Fun Evening a few years ago for £2.

The library have also finally realised that I had returned their damned book, so I was finally able to get out three others. These are
-‘Man vs. Beast’ by Robert Muchamore (part of the CHERUB series)
-‘Knife Edge’ by Malorie Blackman (part of the Noughts and Crosses trilogy)
– and ‘Bloodline’ by Katy Moran, a Gaelic-lookin’ new IP that I got on a whim ’cause the spine stood out.

I’ve been listening to the Bleach OST quite a bit, as well as dropping back on the Beatles a little bit, ’cause I haven’t listened to them in some time. I still know all the words, though. To every song. Anyway, one of my favourite Bleach tunes that isn’t an opening or ending is this one. (Max, I recommend that you forget what it’s related to and just listen to it anyway, ‘cuz it is quite awesome.)

Stroke o’ midnight.

3 Comments

  1. Chris said,

    I find it funny that you are not only wearing a hoodie…. but also have the hood over the back of whatever you are wearing…. Almost like a normal person…..

  2. joethearachnid said,

    I’m gonna pretend that I understood that.

  3. Max said,

    Congrats on ya marks. You bitch. 😀

Leave a Reply

